top of page
  • Writer's pictureTheLegalChristian

Introductory post: Book Reviews

Updated: Sep 4, 2022

Welcome to the 'Book Reviews' section of the blog! Before I begin posting, I thought I'd make an introductory post explaining this section, the reasonings behind it and more.





"In the case of good books, the point is not to see how many of them you can get through, but rather how many can get through to you."- Mortimer J. Adler.

As I'm sure you may guessed- I enjoy reading. I started reading at a young age, those around me can attest to the fact that my nose was always in a book! I enjoyed the feeling of getting lost in a good book, I still do. My favourite books ranged, from reading the 'Harry Potter' series, by J.K Rowling, to 'The Mortal Instruments' series by Cassandra Clare. My passion for reading led me to win my secondary schools, 'Reader of the Year' award in 2015 (it feels like a lifetime ago!).


There was a moment in my life where I stopped reading for a few years. However, like many, the Covid-19 pandemic has helped to revive former passions, hobbies and interests, and for me, this is reading.


Whilst I still do read for pleasure, my reasonings have shifted slightly. I also read to grow in knowledge and hope to become a person of value.


Why did I decide to do this?

In a nutshell, I wasn't really happy with the way I was. I know this may be a bit vague, but pandemic also helped me to stop and assess. It made me think about who I currently am, who I actually want to be, and the possible steps I could take to get there. In order to become the person I wanted to be, I had to make changes. It hasn't been a smooth journey, but it's a journey nonetheless.


The book you see in the above picture, is actually the reason I started reading again. I remember picking up the book in 2020, and after the first few pages, I was hooked. I learnt so many new things and I wanted to learn more. I've read other self-improvement books since then, and they have helped me on my own personal development journey (self-improvement and personal development are the same thing, by the way).

I want to share some of the gems that I've gained from the books I've read so far. I believe reading is powerful. Reading can change the way you think, it gives you some form of mentorship, and it can help you be surrounded with a like-minded community and much more. It has changed lives, is changing lives and will continue to change lives. It's changing my life too, and hopefully via a book recommendation, it'll change yours as well.


My ultimate aim of this section is to hopefully ignite or re-ignite a passion for reading within you-even for those who may not be a fan of it right now.


I'll be doing a book review on the book that started it all too, of course!


What posts do we expect to see?

In this section, you will be seeing book reviews, mainly centred around personal development, business, finance, and the Christian faith genres. Although these will be my main genres, I will try and not limit myself. If I read a book outside of these genres and believe that it will be beneficial to you in some way, I'll still be more than happy to write a review.


How will the book reviews be structured?

The reviews will consist of:


- A brief summary of what the book is about.

- The Review- where you will see my thoughts on the book

- A lesson (s).

- Final thoughts

- A rating out of 5, with 5 being the highest rating.


Also...

I'll include some of my favourite and/or top quotes in Instagram posts.


Reviews will be posted on the last Friday of every month.


I would also love to hear your thoughts and takeaways on the books too and will also try my best to not spoil it for those who want to read them in the future (but I make no promises)


"The more you read, the more things you will know. The more that you learn, the more places you will go."- Dr. Seuss

I'm happy to take on any book suggestions from you as well, either message me on any of my social media platforms, or send me an email: thelegalchristian@hotmail.com


Look out for my first book review on 30/09/22, it's a bit of a detour from my main genres, but I still hope you'll enjoy it!


Until next time, stay reading!


Mary



12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page